Drive a Boat USA is an official online provider of the Florida Boater Safety Course approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission. Florida boat operators born on or after January 1, 1988, operating a vessel powered by 10hp or more, must pass an approved boating safety course and obtain a Florida Boater Safety Education ID Card in order to legally operate the vessel.
Our Florida boating safety course provides a comprehensive step-by-step series of videos and quizzes to prepare you for your Florida State boat exam.
By studying the course, you will learn everything you need to know to pass the boater exam and obtain your Boater Safety Education ID Card.
When you feel ready, take the boater exam online. The exam can be taken with open-book and unlimited retries.
Upon successful completion of the exam, you will be able to print out a Temporary Boater Education Certificate. Your official Identification Card will then arrive by mail in 3-4 weeks.
Drive a Boat USA is an official provider of Boating Course approved by Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC).
With Drive a Boat USA, you can study the Florida Boater Safety Course at your own pace on whichever device you prefer—desktop, laptop, mobile phone or tablet.
Yes. Florida law requires motorized boat operators born on or after January 1, 1988, to pass a boater safety course and carry a boater education card if they operate a boat of 10 hp or more.
You’ll need to study the Florida Boater Safety Course for a minimum of 3 hours before taking the boating exam. Once you’ve completed the course, you will be given unlimited time to complete the official boater exam.
As mentioned above, Florida’s boating laws require that any person born on or after January 1, 1988, who operates a boat with 10 horsepower or greater, obtain a boater education card.
The following persons are exempt from holding a Florida State boater education card:
No! Once you have taken the course, passed the exam and earned your boater education card, it is valid for life.
Yes! Both state and Canadian government agencies recognize out-of-state boater safety education cards as long as they are approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA).
Yes! NASBLA-compliant boating education cards, as well as Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards, will be recognized by all states, territories, and provinces.
A visitor to Florida must meet the conditions to be exempted from the state’s mandatory boater education requirements before renting a boat. If a visitor does not meet these requirements, but still wishes to rent a boat, a temporary certificate is available from vendors all over the state.