Drive a Boat USA is an official provider of the online California Boater Exam approved by the California Division of Boating and Waterways to obtain your California Boater Card. Boater Cards are required if you operate a motorized vessel on state waterways.
With our California boating safety course, you will be well prepared for the online boat exam with fun and engaging videos and quizzes.
Through interactive quizzes and videos, you will gain all the knowledge you need to obtain your California Boater Card.
Apply for your $10 Application ID number paid to the California state website. You will need to submit it before taking the final exam.
Pass the final exam to obtain your certificate of completion. The exam is open-book and includes unlimited retries!
Drive a Boat USA is an official provider of the California boating safety course approved by the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways.
As of January 1st, 2022, all persons 45 years of age or younger are required by law to carry the California Boater Card when operating a motorized vessel. The card must also be obtained by all boaters in California by 2025, regardless of age.
California Harbors and Navigation Code Section 678.11(b) contains the following phase-in schedule based on operator age (effective January 1st of each year):
The boating safety course must be studied for a minimum of 3 hours. After studying, you will have unlimited time to complete the final boating exam.
With the exception of a sailboat no more than 30 feet in length or a dinghy used immediately in between moored boat and the shore (or two moored boats), no one under the age of 16 may operate a boat with a motor of over 15 horsepower.
Children 12-15 years old are permitted to operate vessels with more than 15 horsepower or sailboats over 30 feet provided they are supervised on board by an adult over the age of 18 who carries a California Boater Card, as stipulated by California law.
Boat operators aged 16 or 17 who do not have a California Boater Card may operate a vessel if monitored by an adult over the age of 18 who has a California Boater Card. Infringement of these regulations is considered an offence and carries penalties.
A California Boater Card is not mandatory for the following persons to operate a motorboat in Californian waters under state law:
Yes! State, territory, and provincial government agencies will recognize NASBLA-approved boating education cards and Transport Canada-approved Pleasure Craft Operator Cards held by visiting boaters.
To begin taking the California Boating Certification Exam that will allow you to receive your card, enter your California Application ID and click the Verify Application ID button.
If you do not yet have your California Application ID, visit the California Boater card website to apply for one. On the "Proof of Education" step of the application, select the option for "I have not taken Boating Safety Education at this time." Upon completion of the application, you will receive your California Application ID.